The New Originals

Locust Avenue "The New Originals"


Recorded: (roughly) between August and November 2004 by Carl Amburn at The Mousetrap
Released: 03/22/05
Running time: 37:00


  1. Safe Distance
  2. Martin
  3. Wrapped in Flags
  4. Boundless All Around You
  5. Slim Reality
  6. The Flat Ones
  7. Open Letter To Mark
  8. Come Out
  9. Indifference
  10. No Use At All

Personnel: Jeff Richardson, Jeff Cooper, Matt Carson, Blaine Palmer

It's difficult to describe an album we've been waiting almost four years for especially when the first one was so close to perfection despite the lo-fi quality and slapdash aesthetic. This time out Richardson and crew are a proper band. In fact, they've been playing together now for almost a year and a half, and in that time the songs have developed, evolved and, well, have become a bit more polished. That's a good thing, a very good thing, and it doesn't hurt to have an ace recording engineer either.

I might be lazy, but I think Eric Harmon said it best. "Somewhere between Johnny Cash and the Replacements."

Limited to ~320.

Shipping To:


"The New Originals" POP Magazine Written by Josh McBee, this review appeared in POP Magazine, Friday, 22 April 2005:

Crafting pop songs has become a lost art, especially in these days of post-hardcore and screamo confusion. It's nice to know there's a place where verse/chorus/verse structures still work, a place where lyrics are written and sung so people can hear what's being said. That place is Locust Avenue, and their sophomore CD for the local label Maritime Fist [Glee Club] (sic.) is a humble ode to the lost art of pop sensibility.

"The New Originals" Oklahoma Gazette

This review was written by Preston Jones and appeared in the Oklahoma Gazette, Wednesday 27 April, 2005:

From the gritty opening notes of "Safe Distance," Norman-based quintet Locust Avenue ferociously channels the spiritual likes of The Replacements and The Kinks through the 10 tracks on "The New Originals" — leaving listeners with a permanent grin stapled to their faces and an undeniable urge to hit the repeat button after every track.

"The New Originals" Dream #7

Reviewed in Dream Magazine #7:

A louder clearer sound than before, more middle American rock pop. A bunch of nice guys making their collective pop dreams into some kind of reality. Very catchy and much more overtly psychedelic and colorfully poppy than their ‘Shortwave’ album. A couple tracks sound like they might want to be R.E.M., but this time the songs really will be about nothing.